Habanerogal

A Quickie Quitting Update

Posted on: March 18, 2010

I haven’t really been paying much attention to milestones in my quitting smoking journey. The main reason is that my mindset (which if you know me well leans towards the stubborn side) has been resolute from the get go. Once I put out that last cigarette with not very much in the way of ceremony I was a former smoker. Just like that the switch had been turned off. I can’t explain how I got to that place where I just KNEW that the door had shut and I was walking forward, but I had done it.
Before I committed to quitting I joined a group called Albertaquits.ca. They are an online support group run by the Alberta Lung Association. I have not been active in the support groups but one aspect of the program that I enjoy is the stats and quit anniversary reminder that they send. In honour of my 7 month-aversary here are all of the statistics that make me stand back and gloat a bit and say well done.

Your Quit Date is: Monday, August 17, 2009 at 12:00:00 AM
Test Time Smoke-Free: 212 days, 3 hours, 16 minutes and 8 seconds
Cigarettes NOT smoked: 4243
Lifetime Saved: 1 month, 2 days, 9 hours
Money Saved: $2,035.20

Trust me if I can stay the course living with smokers then you can too. I can’t tell you how happy this makes me to be here in a happier place.

10 Responses to "A Quickie Quitting Update"

Thats great, I am going into week 3 now and though I’d love a cigarette right now! I have managed to continue to talk myself out of it :o) Great Blog.

Kerry

LOVE those stats, and good for you! I don’t remember you smoking that much when you DID smoke, but at any rate, it is something to be proud of!
C

Well done! I’m sure you’ll be an inspiration to smokers who are thinking to quit smoking.

GOOD FOR YOU! The stats are amazing…seeing those numbers in print has quite the impact doesnt it? Congratulations, habanerogal…I know how hard it is to quit. Well done, well done!

Go haberno girl…..yeah!

Congrats! That’s pretty impressive. Some people are just able to go cold turkey.

I love the stat sheet. That should make you gloat! And feel damn good.

Wow, very impressive! (here via your comment on TheBloggess, btw)

So, with that 2K saved, you can take a nice vacay this summer, right? ;-)

Go you!

Good God I can’t believe how much it adds up to be when you look at it from the outside. Go you!

congratulations! that’s definitely an accomplishment, and when you get to see all the numbers like that, it’s got to help you stick to your guns. Take that money and buy yourself something nice, or even donate it to the children’s cancer wing of your local hospital. Or both!

Seven months after you quit and you’ve only added 1 MONTH back onto your life? Doesn’t that feel like a ripoff?
JK, that’s something to be proud of for sure. Someday when I’m all growed up I plan to quit too.
Maybe after the kids move out. Cause right now I need my stress relieving crutch. :-)

Leave a Reply

Pages

What I said before

My best crap

what I been tweetin’

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Aunt Becky’s Cruise, Yo
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

